GoPro HERO5 Black Review: Best Affordable Action Camera for Travelers

Deal Score+1

$504.90

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy Now
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: GoPro Hero5 Black - Waterproof Digital Action Camera for Travel with Touch Screen 4K HD Video 12MP Photos - $504.90
Price history
×
Price history for GoPro Hero5 Black - Waterproof Digital Action Camera for Travel with Touch Screen 4K HD Video 12MP Photos
Latest updates:
  • $504.90 - October 5, 2022
  • $446.99 - September 24, 2022
  • $444.90 - August 21, 2022
  • $449.99 - August 16, 2022
  • $419.99 - July 19, 2022
  • $417.90 - July 5, 2022
  • $419.99 - June 12, 2022
  • $405.99 - May 21, 2022
Since: May 16, 2022
  • Highest Price: $504.90 - October 5, 2022
  • Lowest Price: $403.90 - May 16, 2022
Last Amazon price update was: October 5, 2022 3:16 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Welcome gentlemen and ladies. If you are planning to travel around the world on the ground or with your favorite action camera drone. Then, you are going to want to find out the best action cameras for your drones. Without spending too much money getting your hands on a high-quality action camera that produces beautiful stills and videos at 4K ultra high definition resolution setting. Introducing the GoPro HERO5 Black action camera.

We decided to do an in-depth review of the GoPro HERO5 Black action camera to help people like you decide if this camera is worth the money. In our GoPro HERO5 Black review, we will be going through the design, features, and performance. Along with these sections, I will introduce other tidbits that you also should know about this action camera. And finally, if you are looking to buy an action camera but you aren’t sure which drones to use with.

Then, I encourage you to check out my top 5 best drones for action cameras. In that article, you will find out all popular drones that work with any GoPro HERO action cameras from HERO3 and above. That being said, if you are interested in having a high-quality action camera. Stick with us because we are going to dive into the details right now and find out if the GoPro HERO5 Black action camera is right for you.

In The Box

To kickstart the GoPro HERO5 Black review, we are going to talk about what is inside the box. As every other action camera, getting to know what is included in the box will help you become prepared. If you need to order extra accessories such as 3-Axis Gimbal Stabilizer Stick for action camera or Selfie Stick, we encourage you to check them out as well. That being said, the GoPro HERO5 Black action camera comes with all the necessary accessories to get you started.

GoPro HERO5 Black Review In The Box

Inside the box, it comes with the following items:

  • GoPro HERO5 Black action camera
  • Waterproof Housing Case
  • USB Charger
  • Mount Buckle
  • Rechargeable Battery
  • Curved Adhesive Mount
  • Flat Adhesive Mount

I liked how GoPro keeps everything simple and organized. Compared to action cameras under $100 that is usually cluttered with a lot of unnecessary accessories which you probably will never use it. The GoPro HERO5 Black action camera is clean, simple and organized which I give it a big thumb up.

Design Quality

On the first impression, I liked how this action camera is designed. GoPro HERO5 Black action camera features light black coating all around its main body framework. In addition to that, the corners are smoothened out which makes it completely look professional. I think it is certainly a great design move on the GoPro’s part.

GoPro HERO5 Black Review Action Camera Design

Unlike most action cameras, the GoPro HERO5 Black features a square case with a built-in powerful camera on the front. Plus, it comes with a nice logo branding on the bottom. As you can see in the picture, this action camera shows the battery duration, how much memory capacity you have left, and the mode you are on right now. Overall, it is a huge design improvement compared to its predecessor.

Responsive Touchscreen

On the back of the action, the camera features a 2.2 inches touchscreen. The GoPro HERO5 Black action camera probably has one of the most simple, responsive and easy to navigate the menu. Thanks to a complete and detailed HUD, you can know what type of mode you are on. Including how battery life, memory storage capacity, Wi-Fi signal and of course GPS location data.

GoPro HERO5 Black Review Touchscreen

The fact that this action camera is so easy enough that a beginner who has no experience using an action camera before will have an easy time picking it up. I liked this action camera compared to others because it is built to be simple. On top of that, it is professionally designed which adds wow factor to its overall ease of use.

Performance

Understanding how well GoPro HERO 5 Black performs is especially important. Even though GoPro has recently released new HERO6 and HERO7, it is still important enough to point out that HERO5 Black is a strong competitor. Thanks to its affordable price tag, the GoPro HERO5 Black boasts impressive performance packed with a lot of awesome features.

With a built-in CMOS sensor that is popular and widely used in professional-grade camera drones, the GoPro HERO5 Black action camera does an incredible job of capturing beautiful shots and videos. Not to mention that this action camera can produce both JPEG and RAW files format which gives you the options to create masterpieces using Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop. Truly an inexpensive professional-grade action camera at entry-level.

Features & Tidbits

In the next part of the GoPro HERO5 Black review, we are going to talk about features that this action camera brings to the table. First and foremost, this action camera features QuikStories that allows you to transform your footage into an awesome video edited which you can share with your friends and families. Furthermore, you can utilize voice command to tell what your action camera should do such as capture and start recording.

GoPro HERO5 Black Review Action Camera

I liked that feature because it gives you complete hands-free experience for more control over how you want to produce the footage. On the inside, it can perform Timelapse, Single, and Burst mode. The price tag that this action camera has to offer is plenty of fun for beginners and experienced users.

Final Verdict of GoPro HERO5 Black Review

Before I conclude the GoPro HERO5 Black review, there are few final remarks that I want to share with you. Out of all action cameras, this is one of the best that is worth checking out. If you are looking for a quality action camera that you can use while traveling to a different country. Or maybe you want to mount it on one of your favorite drones such as HS700 Ophelia or Stalker.

GoPro HERO5 Black Review Camera

This action camera makes it easy for you to capture beautiful shots from the ground-level, underwater and aerial. Along with powerful image resolution and the ability to create vibrant shots. It is one of the most features packed that gives you a wide latitude over how you want to produce your content. At this point, I would say that the GoPro HERO5 Black is a great choice for people who are on a tight budget or simply want to start their video career on YouTube. You can check out its price here.

9.3/10 Read review
93 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: GoPro Hero5 Black - Waterproof Digital Action Camera for Travel with Touch Screen 4K HD Video 12MP Photos - $504.90
Price history
×
Price history for GoPro Hero5 Black - Waterproof Digital Action Camera for Travel with Touch Screen 4K HD Video 12MP Photos
Latest updates:
  • $504.90 - October 5, 2022
  • $446.99 - September 24, 2022
  • $444.90 - August 21, 2022
  • $449.99 - August 16, 2022
  • $419.99 - July 19, 2022
  • $417.90 - July 5, 2022
  • $419.99 - June 12, 2022
  • $405.99 - May 21, 2022
Since: May 16, 2022
  • Highest Price: $504.90 - October 5, 2022
  • Lowest Price: $403.90 - May 16, 2022
Last Amazon price update was: October 5, 2022 3:16 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
9.3 Total Score
Editor's Review

We think GoPro HERO5 Black action camera is definitely one of the best that will worth buying for. With a wide latitude to choose from features and customizing how you want to produce your content. The GoPro HERO5 Black beautifully captures stills and videos at the highest detail level, both during dayttime and nighttime. This is an action camera that is easily affordable at entry-level among beginners and experienced users.

Design
10
Performance
9
Features
9
Battery Time
9
Camera Quality
9
Value
10
PROS
  • Built-in Powerful CMOS Sensor that delivers quality and vibrant images / videos shot.
  • High-powered capacity battery that gives you at least two hours of operating time.
  • 4K ultra high-definition resolution that beautifully captures the details.
  • Super simple and easy to navigate around touchscreen menu.
  • Easy for beginners to use thanks to modern and unique design.
  • Built-in Wi-Fi and Embedded GPS tracker location.
CONS
  • Doesn't have 4K @ 60 FPS mode, thus, you are limited to 4K @ 30 FPS. But that's not a big deal.
Add your review

Hello, welcome to UAV Adviser! My name is Keith Ericksen. I am a commercial licensed drone operator. Flying and talking about the drones is my passion. Whether it is toy-grade to professional-grade quadcopters. On my leisure, I enjoy socializing with friends, play video games, hiking, traveling and reading. If you have a project that needs our drone services, please contact us via Hire-A-Pilot page.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

UAV Adviser
Logo
Enable registration in settings - general