SK X8 RC Camera Drone Review: Best Clone of HS100 Under $100?

Deal Score0

$179.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy Now
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Holy Stone GPS FPV RC Drone HS100 with 2K HD Camera Live Video and GPS Return Home Quadcopter with Adjustable Wide-Angle WiFi Camera Follow Me, Altitude Hold, Intelligent Battery Long Control Range - $179.99
Price history
×
Price history for Holy Stone GPS FPV RC Drone HS100 with 2K HD Camera Live Video and GPS Return Home Quadcopter with Adjustable Wide-Angle WiFi Camera Follow Me, Altitude Hold, Intelligent Battery Long Control Range
Latest updates:
  • $179.99 - December 31, 2021
  • $189.99 - December 1, 2021
  • $179.99 - October 21, 2021
Since: October 21, 2021
  • Highest Price: $189.99 - December 1, 2021
  • Lowest Price: $179.99 - October 21, 2021
Last Amazon price update was: December 31, 2021 7:52 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

If you’ve been looking for a professional appearance drone that sports a nice and stylish design with a camera mounted underneath its body framework. Meet the SK X8 RC camera drone. This is one of several professional-like camera drones that beginners and kids can buy for less than $100. Believe it or not, the SK X8 RC camera drone is much cheaper than the HS100 drone and it does look the same, despite fewer features and lower camera quality.

However, the SK X8 RC camera drone is still very popular among beginners and kids. The purpose of the SK X8 RC camera drone review is to provide you all the information you need to know about this quadcopter. This is why I have assembled this guide so that you can make an informed decision. The guide will be divided into four different categories: Build Quality, Performance, Features, and Remote Controller. At the end of the review, I’ll share my final remarks about this camera drone.

Related Article: How to Buy A Drone: The Ultimate Beginner’s Guide

Build & Design Quality

First and foremost, I really liked how the SK X8 RC camera drone appearance is. It features a jet black coating, giving it a professional look. It’s bound to grab the attention of bystanders when you fly the drone near them. In addition to that, this camera drone comes with sliver strips on each motor arms, just like the Phantom 3 Standard. The material that is used to construct the SK X8 RC drone is made of durable ABS plastic which provides excellent durability.

SK X8 RC Camera Drone Design Build Features

The quality of the camera underneath the drone features 720p HD 2MP. Also, it can be rotated easily with your fingers so that you can point the camera in the direction you want to capture for aerial photography. One of the nice design modules that give away a great impression is the landing pads. I especially like it because it keeps the camera from coming in contact with the ground. You don’t want to have dirty particles getting stuck on the camera. And the SK X8 RC drone does a fantastic job of providing clear aerial view thanks to its design layout.

Lastly, this black little bird has LED lights built-in the motor arms. This is crucial for visual assistance positioning. When you’re flying the drone, you need to be able to see where it is and the LED lights help give out the positioning. Not only is it great for spotting the drone during day time, but you also don’t have to stop flying during the nighttime. The lights mounted on the SK X8 RC camera drone makes a great night light show that is mesmerizing. Overall, I give a big fat thumb up for the SK X8 RC camera drone.

Related Article: Top 10 Best Accessories for DJI Mavic 2 Pro and Zoom

Performance

Before I start talking about the SK X8 RC drone performance, this copter is capable of lifting an action camera. This means you’ll have the option to choose between a standard camera or you can opt to replace for a better action camera such as the: AKASO V50 pro-Native or EleCam Explorer Elite. The SK X8 RC camera drone, in general, has a great performance thanks to high propulsion force that delivers speed and stability.

It’s also responsive to the controls that offer smooth flight controls. This is especially important for beginners and kids who want to have an affordable drone that is easy to fly. In addition to that, the SK X8 RC camera drone includes speed mode on three different levels. On the first level, the speed and controls are dumbed down enough so that beginners can learn how to fly. Once beginners master the flight controls, they can increase the speed level to challenge themselves. The SK X8 RC camera drone is equipped with a powerful 7.4V 1500mAh modularized battery that gives it an average flight time of 15 minutes.

Many modern drones that you’ll see such as the Amcrest A4-W Skyview and F111 Phoenix include a built-in gyroscope stabilizer that detects changes in the air pressure and adjusts accordingly. This means you don’t have to worry that much about maintaining height level since the drone will do itself automatically. That allows beginners and kids to focus more on movement and having fun. You can see more of the SK X8 RC camera drone review to see its performance in action below.

Related Article: Mavic 2 Pro vs Zoom: What’s The Real Difference?

Features

The SK X8 RC camera drone comes with several game-changers features that make the whole flight operations simple and easy enough that beginners can start flying right out of the box. These main features are headless mode, automatic landing/takeoff, altitude hold function, trajectory flight, and speed mode. Although, it doesn’t encompass the features you would normally see on more advanced drones such as the Ophelia or the Mavic 2.

SK X8 RC Camera Drone Features

As you might be scratching your head already what the heck is Headless Mode. To put these words as simple as possible: it switches the control orientation of the drone to your remote controller. That means you fly the drone in the direction you are pushing the movement lever at regardless of where the drone is facing at. This makes the whole flight experience much easier for beginners. The rest of the functions is pretty much self-explanatory.

Related Article: Best 5 Professional and Commercial Drones That Makes Good Money

Remote Controller

The SK X8 RC camera drone review isn’t done without talking about the remote controller. If you’re a gamer like me, then this remote controller should come across to you naturally. At first glance, it does look like an Xbox One controller in some way because of how the control sticks and button pads are. It even comes with its mount holder that you can insert your smartphone like iPhone 7 Plus with a case on it easily.

SK X8 RC Camera Drone Remote Controller

To power on the drone, simply push the button in the middle. The movement lever is located on the right side and the buttons underneath it are trimmers. Sometimes the drone will hover unsteadily, so you need to trim to balance the drone. On the left side of the remote controller are the altitude hold function and rotation control. The buttons underneath the lever are the features such as automatic takeoff/landing, On the shoulders of the remote controller is the photo, video, speed mode, and flip mode. That’s all about the remote controller :).

Related Article: Best Smartphone Cases for iPhone 7 Plus

Conclusion

We think the SK X8 RC camera drone is truly a professionally crafted quadcopter designed for beginners and recreational pilots. It does look like a high-grade quadcopter at first glance which will leave a good impression on the people watching you fly this little mean blackbird around! Along with that stylish design, the drone is durable enough to withstand a beating and in my opinion, it’s a big plus.

Because it comes with speed mode, the SK X8 RC camera drone is incredibly capable of flying outdoor and resisting the wind speed with ease. Most toy-grade drones such as HS170 Predator can’t handle the windy weather conditions very well. But the SK X8 RC camera drone easily makes the best starter choice for beginners and kids. It’s affordable, durable, easy to use, and comes with several awesome features that make it overall a popular pick. You can check its price by visiting its official page below.

8.6/10 Read review
86 %
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Holy Stone GPS FPV RC Drone HS100 with 2K HD Camera Live Video and GPS Return Home Quadcopter with Adjustable Wide-Angle WiFi Camera Follow Me, Altitude Hold, Intelligent Battery Long Control Range - $179.99
Price history
×
Price history for Holy Stone GPS FPV RC Drone HS100 with 2K HD Camera Live Video and GPS Return Home Quadcopter with Adjustable Wide-Angle WiFi Camera Follow Me, Altitude Hold, Intelligent Battery Long Control Range
Latest updates:
  • $179.99 - December 31, 2021
  • $189.99 - December 1, 2021
  • $179.99 - October 21, 2021
Since: October 21, 2021
  • Highest Price: $189.99 - December 1, 2021
  • Lowest Price: $179.99 - October 21, 2021
Last Amazon price update was: December 31, 2021 7:52 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
8.6 Total Score
Editor's Review

The SK X8 RC camera drone is a professional crafted quadcopter equipped with 720P HD camera for beginners who wants to learn how to fly a drone. But, also to learn how to capture pictures and videos from the sky. We think this is one of the best starter choice for entry-level camera drone to start with. We highly recommend the SK X8 RC camera drone.

Design
9
Performance
8
Features
7
Flight Time
10
Value
9
PROS
  • Professional Appearance
  • Long Battery Life
  • Can Mount Action Camera
  • Flexible
  • Durable
  • Easy to Fly
  • Beginner Friendly
CONS
  • No Built-in GPS
  • Limited Control Distance
Add your review

Hello, welcome to UAV Adviser! My name is Keith Ericksen. I am a commercial licensed drone operator. Flying and talking about the drones is my passion. Whether it is toy-grade to professional-grade quadcopters. On my leisure, I enjoy socializing with friends, play video games, hiking, traveling and reading. If you have a project that needs our drone services, please contact us via Hire-A-Pilot page.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Your total score

UAV Adviser
Logo
Enable registration in settings - general